Grants + Funding

Transformation Grants

Transformation Grant Logo

The CGE has adapted their former travel grants to include requests for the following initiatives:

  • Travel to in-person meetings
  • Registration to attend virtual meetings
  • Registration to participate in virtual classes or online training
  • Hardware to support participation in virtual platforms
  • Publication fees

Postdocs, graduate students, and junior staff who work in labs belonging to CGE member faculty are eligible to apply. Applications will be reviewed twice annually, in December and June.

The four major goals of the Transformation grant are:

  • Expand CGE member collaborations;
  • Expand CGE member outreach activities;
  • Encourage involvement in STEM for underrepresented students, and
  • Produce a long-term impact


  • Grants will be awarded in varying amounts with a total biannual budget of $6,000.
  • Awardees are not eligible to receive funding more than once a calendar year.
  • Preference will be given to members of underrepresented groups.

Biannual Applications Deadlines:

  • December 13th, 2021
  • June 20th, 2022


Transformation Grant Awardees [formerly Travel grants]

Expand all


Travel Grants = Minjing Wang, Ashley Auerbach, Kyle Williams, Garrett Draper. Movement Grant Awardees = Michael Anderson, Kacey Guenther, Ramya Kumar, Sofia Moraes, Eunice Oribamise, Alina Zdechlik


Travel Grants = Kelsie Becklin, Lalitha Belur, Kanut Laoharawee, Degao Liu, Thu Phan, Amanda Rieffer, Meagan Rollins, Alina Zdechlik. Movement Grants = Ramya Kumar, Kacey Guenther, Sofia Moraes, Michael Anderson, Eunice Oribamise


Eric Aird, Raviraj Banakar Subhasappa, Pauline Beckmann, Adam Cheng, Maria Elena Gamo, Susanna Huggenberger, Arjun Khakhar, Ramya Kumar, Alex Larsson, Jordan Naumann, Dimitri Perusse, Colette Rogers, Mizuho Sato-Dahlman, Christopher Stach, Trevor Weiss and Kyle Williams - 16 total


Eric Aird (Gordon), Ravi Banakar (Zhang), Adam Cheng (Harris), Susanna Huggenberger (Hendrickson), Suzie Hsu (Smanski),  Sara Isakson (Largaespada), Cat Lee (Tolar), Cara-lin Lonetree (Webber), Jordan Naumann (Harris), Julia Nikrad (Largaespada), Gunvant Patil (Stupar), Demitri Perusse (Smanski), Emily Pomeroy (Moriarity), Christopher Stach (Smanski), Trevor Weiss (Zhang) - 15 Total


Eric Aird (Gordon), Arpan Bandyopadhyay (Hu), Kelsie Becklin (Moriarity), David Chau (Hu), Yeung Ho (Dehm), Susanna Huggenberger (Hendrickson), Cat Lee (Tolar), Michael Maher (Voytas), Jennifer McCann (Harris), Meghan McCann (Hu), Nicole Mihelich (Stupar), Kelly Podetz-Pedersen (McIvor),Tung Se Le (Hu), Artur Serebrenik (Harris), Branden Smeester (Moriarity), Gabe Starrett (Harris), Amber St. Martin-Schoenecker (Harris), Redeat Tibebu (Voytas), German Velez Reyes (Largaespada) - 19 total


Tracy Marko (Largaespada), Junqi Liu (Stupar), Jo Varshney (Largaespada), Tomas Cermak (Voytas), David Chau (Hu), Tung Sy Le (Hu), Paul Atkins (Voytas), Eva Konecna (Voytas), & Branden Smeester (Moriarity), Pranav Agrawal (Reineke), Bryant Keller (Largaespada), Colby Starker (Voytas), Lalitha Belur (McIvor), Yogesh Dhande (Reineke), John Hunzeker (Moriarity), Nicole Mihelich (Stupar), Ryan Nasti (Voytas), Chris Stach (Smanski), Kojiro Tashiro (Bagchi), Elizabeth Thompson (Hendrickson), Kyle Williams (Largaespada) - 21 total


Brett Anderson (Harris), Michael A. Carpenter (Harris), David Chau (Hu), Shaun Curtin (Young), Hsu-Yuan Fu (Hu), Javi Gil (Voytas), Adam Harvey (Hendrickson), Aaron Hummel (Voytas), Yinan Kan (Hendrickson), Michael Maher (Voytas), Meghan McCann (Hu), Mizuho Sato (Yamamoto), Artur Serebrenik (Harris), QiWei Shan (Voytas), & Elizabeth Thompson (Hendrickson) - 15 Total


Paul Atkins (Voytas), Tomas Cermak (Voytas), Shaun Curtin (Stupar), Javier Gil (Voytas), Adam Harvey (Hendrickson), Aaron Hummel (Voytas), Yinan Kan (Hendrickson), Rebecca LaRue (Largaespada), Branden Moriarity (Largaespada), Amy Molan (Harris), Tianheng Ren (Voytas), Amber Schoenecker (Harris), Jo Varshney (Largaespada), Yaoying Wu (Reineke) - 14 Total


Talaria Prize

Talaria are winged sandals - best known as the symbol of the god Hermes; with this prize we encourage CGE trainees to explore new concepts in genome engineering, harnessing both the speed and innovation in trades for which Hermes was best known.

Given CGE’s strong history in this regard, our intent is to foster the development of new technologies that would create new capabilities, empower research, and make new products possible.  As such, some of the ideas generated could be disclosed to the University’s Office for Technology Commercialization and potentially be patented and licensed by the biotechnology sector. Indeed, the CGE leadership intend to help our trainees develop their ideas. We hope that the outcome of these “thought experiments” would benefit our research endeavors, the public good, foster economic growth and potentially generate revenue to support the CGE’s research and education goals.

Prize recipients will receive:

  • $1,000 one-time prize for the recipient
  • Assistance bringing the idea from concept to practice - from CGE faculty given their experience; OTC guidance on how to disclose the idea within the UMN
  • Assistance through invention disclosure process if the concept is to be brought into the lab
  • A guarantee from the award committee that your idea will not be published or disclosed to anyone without permission of the applicant; all reviewers pledge to maintain confidentiality of ideas being reviewed
  • Possible mentorship opportunity with local entrepreneur: TBA & configured to the winning idea’s content

Congratulations to our Talaria Prize winners:

Adam Smiley, Reineke Lab

Emily Pomeroy, Moriarity Lab
Read about Pomeroy's Talaria project here!

Jennifer McCann, Harris Lab

Paul Atkins, Voytas Lab


Hatch Award

The objective of the Hatch Award is to foster entrepreneurial outputs encompassing novel, hypothesis-driven studies of genome engineering or a genome engineering-related topic. Projects that meet these criteria will be prioritized for funding, although it is not a prerequisite for application submission. 

Eligibility and Evaluation Criteria

These pilot grants are available to Center for Genome Engineering members with faculty appointments at the University of Minnesota. 

  • Applications will not be considered from investigators who have a long-standing track record of accomplishment, based on federal grant support or co-authored publications. This is an early career award. Hatch Awards are not meant to supplement currently funded research projects. Members may only submit one application to this mechanism. 
  • Applications must have a genome engineering or genome engineering- related theme. 
  • Proposed research must be hypothesis-driven and have the goal of using the award as a springboard to foster an entrepreneurial mechanism which could later be brought to the Office of Technology Commercialization for distribution into the marketplace. 
  • The funds must be designated for the direct support of research. In general, funds should be used for supplies and support of research personnel (graduate students or technicians). Funds cannot be used to support faculty salaries. Only equipment purchases that are directly required for the research are appropriate. No indirect costs should be included in the budget. 
  • All applicants are required to have proper approvals (IRB/IACUC/IBC) before research may begin. Applicants are highly encouraged to apply for proper approvals at or prior to the time of submission. This will ensure that the study is approved by the start date of the award. 

Applications with budgets of $25,000 for a one year term will be considered.
One award will be made per fiscal year depending upon scientific review, budget requests and funding availability.